skip navigation

MGR Student Prize


The New York Conference on Asian Studies (NYCAS) encourages the development of the skills of scholarly writing by awarding annual prizes for excellent student papers dealing with Asia. Two such prizes are awarded each year, one to an undergraduate student and one to a graduate student. Runners-up are named in each category.

The prizes honor the outstanding service of Dr. Marleigh Grayer Ryan, former Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Professor of Japanese Literature, and Coordinator of Asian Studies at SUNY New Paltz; and longtime Executive Secretary of NYCAS.

NYCAS Congratulates the Winners of the 2017 Writing Prize Competition!

Graduate Prize Winner

Emily Bowlus-Peck

University at Buffalo, State University of New York

“Jesuit Understandings of Abnormal Behavior in Early Modern Chinese Medicine”


Graduate Honorable Mention Winner

Patrick Nash

University at Buffalo, State University of New York

“Re-imagining the Ku Klux Klan in Chinese Media, 1950-1959”


Undergraduate Prize Winner

Kristin Xinming Chang

Sarah Lawrence College

“The Gold Medal Rush: Machine-body Racializations of Chinese Labor at the Olympics and Beyond”


Undergraduate Honorable Mention Winner

Niall Chithelen

Cornell University

“In Search of “Spaces”: The Ezra Opium Case of 1925, Extraterritoriality, and Analyzing Semicolonial China”


2018 Competition Information                      

Eligibility: Undergraduate and graduate students at a college or university in New York State.

Field: East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Asia in diaspora, and Asian American studies.

Awards: The First Prize winners in the Undergraduate and Graduate categories each will receive a $100 prize; up to $200 reimbursement for travel and expenses to attend the NYCAS 2018 Annual Meeting; and a waiver of the NYCAS 2018 registration fee, including conference meals at the NYCAS meeting.

The Graduate Paper Prize winner will receive a complimentary one-year membership to the Association for Asian Studies and will be eligible to participate on a panel sponsored by the AAS Council on Conferences at the AAS annual meeting.

The Runner-up/Honorable Mention winners each will receive a waiver of the NYCAS 2018 registration fee, including conference meals at the NYCAS meeting.

The winning papers will be published on the NYCAS website and considered for presentation in a panel at the NYCAS meeting.

Format of papers: Papers should include a cover page giving the title of the paper, the student’s name, category, institution, and contact information (including current email and permanent mailing address).

Submission of papers: A student may submit only one entry. Papers may be submitted by the student author or by a faculty member acting on behalf of a student. A faculty member may not provide any evaluative comments at the time of nomination.

Papers should be submitted by email attachment only. Undergraduate papers are limited to 40 pages. Graduate papers are limited to 60 pages.

A submitted paper should stand alone and not be a segment of a larger work, such as a Senior Thesis, Masters’ Thesis, or Doctoral Dissertation.

Please include a completed cover sheet with your application. Attach the pdf cover sheet along with your paper in your submission email.

Entry deadline: June 1, 2018

Notification of awards by August 15, 2018

Submit papers by email attachment to:

Professor Tiantian Zheng, Chair

NYCAS Marleigh Grayer Ryan Prize Committee